The Perfect Court Shoe

L.K. Bennett’s Shilo Shoe

“What?” I hear you fashionistas gasp in your Louboutins, “L.K. Bennett?”

Yes. At £170 a pair they look beautiful, are perfectly affordable and work for pretty much every occasion. I have two pairs of this classic patent leather court shoe by the UK high street store, one in black to wear with dark outfits and another in taupe to wear when I have lighter colours on, generally in summer.

I also have a pair of navy court shoes with a thicker heel (the Art shoe) which are even more comfortable so I tend to wear these if I know I’m going to be standing or walking (although I think this exact shoe may have been discontinued).

To complete my collection I have pair of their famous Maddox wedges in black patent leather (these were made famous when the now Duchess of Cambridge wore them the day after her wedding). They’re perfect for summer parties on the lawn or just with jeans or denim shorts to give a summer outfit a bit of a boost. They’re a little more expensive at £175 and never go on sale. Ever. Thanks a lot Kate.

The shoes have buttery soft cream leather soles (which I have to say I prefer to a red sole, as red will obviously not go with everything you’re wearing and you will inevitably lift your foot up at some point). They come in half sizes so everyone should be able to find a pair that fits them like a glove. I’m normally at size 39 but find a 38.5 fits me perfectly with none of that awful gapping at the heel.

At 3.5 inches tall they are not so low that they look like granny heels but not too high to be comfortable. I can walk so comfortably in them that my boyfriend once noted how naturally I was walking and he tends to comment disdainfully when women totter past us like they’re walking on hot coals. I also find that a very high heel simply isn’t elegant. You want the shoe to naturally elongate your leg, not to make you look like you’re waddling along on stilts. Some women have a very unfortunate situation where they are so uncomfortable and unbalanced in their shoes that they stick their bottoms out to compensate, so waddle they must.

I also personally resent spending inordinate amounts of money on heels as I don’t wear them often enough to merit it. As beautiful as a pair of Jimmy Choo, Louboutin, or Rupert Sanderson heels may be, I simply wouldn’t get enough use out of them. So unless you’re someone who wears your 5 inch heels to walk the dog, you’re probably not getting enough use out of them either.

So yes, LK Bennett it is!

Check out their website here.

Leave a Reply

