Chemical Free Essentials – Lipcare

Ever wondered what you’re putting on your lips everyday?

Well chances are it’s lots of chemicals you don’t want anywhere near your face, let alone your mouth!

Here are my suggestions for chemical free alternatives to your usual lip balm or vaseline.

Lucas’ Paw Paw Ointment 

IMG_8760

Lucas’ Paw Paw Ointment is my fix all chemical free solution to Vaseline.

I used Vaseline for years. I used to put it on cuts and burns and occasionally even on my eyelashes and eyebrows instead of brow fix.

When I realised it was made of Petroleum, Soft Paraffin and a lot of other things I didn’t want to put on my skin I went in search of an alternative and discovered Lucas’ Paw Paw Ointment.

It is pharmaceutical grade petroleum jelly and meets the purity and safety standards of the American FDA and the European Pharmacopeia.

IMG_8881

It is subjected to much more stringent testing than your average petroleum jelly so that only the purest safest ingredients are used.

It is mixed with papaya extract straight from Queensland, Australia to make the final product and does not contain polyplasdone, polyvinylpyrrolidone, talc, shellac or sodium lauryl sulphate. None of which you want in your lip balm.

I have a big tub of Paw Paw on my dresser which I use all the time when I’m at home and a small tube which I keep in my handbag for when I’m out.

My boyfriend is now also a convert.

You can go to the Pawpaw Shop for all your pawpaw related needs.

Dr Hauschka Lip Care Stick / Lip Balm

dr h lip balmIMG_8727

If you’re not convinced petroleum jelly in any form is for you or your lips you can always rely on Dr Hauschka’s lip balm which contains calendula and St John’s Wort extract along with jojoba and wheat germ oils.

Or their portable lip care stick which is made primarily of jojoba wax and shea butter to protect your lips from the elements.

There are absolutely no nasties in them and they don’t encourage dependency (like lots of other lip balms do) because they only use natural ingredients.

 Buy them at Beauty Bay or from the Dr Hauschka website.

 

Leave a Reply

