My Favourite Winter Breakfasts

These are a few of my more unusual winter breakfast choices. I am of course a big fan of the basic English fry up (maybe a slightly healthier version), eggs on toast (fried, poached, scrambled), sausage sandwiches and other breakfast classics, but the options below are just a little bit more exciting!

Cinnamon French Toast with Sliced Banana and Maple Syrup

IMG_2121

IMG_3018This is very easy to make. I tend to do two eggs per person, so if I’m making for two I’ll break four organic eggs into a bowl and beat them with a little milk, half a teaspoon of powdered cinnamon and half a teaspoon of brown sugar.

I use white country spelt bread from The Bread Shop which is lovely and doesn’t go too soggy but any classic white sourdough or loaf should work. Very soft white bread will probably fall apart (so be warned about trying to use it)!

I soak the bread in the egg mixture for as long as I can, and push it in to make sure it’s completely covered. Then I just fry it up in a little olive oil over a medium heat so it doesn’t burn.

To finish simply slice a fresh banana over it and pour a bit of maple syrup. You can sprinkle some extra brown sugar on as well if you like but I find it sweet enough with just the maple syrup.

 

Banana Date Porridge

IMG_1844

This is such an easy quick healthy breakfast to make.

Everyone has different ways of making porridge (or oatmeal). I personally just throw plain oats into a non-stick pan with plenty of skimmed milk, so the porridge is nice and runny, and let it cook slowly over a low heat.

Sometimes I toss some flaked almonds into the mixture to give it a bit of crunch or some sultanas (but that’s generally only if I’m not adding dates).

While it’s cooking I chop up a banana and some dates and sprinkle them over the porridge to finish. What you have is a warm, sweet, satisfying breakfast that’s full of healthy goodness.

Clean and Lean Oat Pancakes

IMG_2769

IMG_0918

IMG_2772

IMG_2780

IMG_2267

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • 100g rolled oats
  • 200g fat free cottage cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Mix all the ingredients together in a blender (I use my Vitamix) then simply fry the pancakes in a little olive oil. The mixture is thick enough for you to cook several at the same time.

This recipe is borrowed from James Duigan‘s ‘Clean and Lean Diet Cookbook.’

It’s a great book and this is one of my favourite recipes from it. When I first made it I was a little suspicious about putting cottage cheese and oats and absolutely no milk or flour into a pancake mix but I was very pleasantly surprised. The results were an American style “short stack” of pancakes.

I serve them with fruit (chopped apple, pear, banana or blueberries- whatever I have in the fridge) and maple syrup. And sometimes some Greek yoghurt as well. Yum.

I don’t always manage to finish them so I just put any leftovers in the fridge and have them the next day. Perfect!

Happy breakfasting!

Leave a Reply

